Skip to Links   |    Skip to Content


This fund was established in August 1967 in the wake of a community tragedy; a car accident that took the lives of two promising young men, David Robertson and Stephen Holmes, who were on the brink of beginning their post-secondary education. J. A. Campbell and Ivan Robertson, members of the community, and the Reverend Stewart Clarke, presiding minister at St. Andrew’s United Church, established the fund to provide the community with a positive focus for their grief.

For 29 years, the fund was skilfully managed by Ms. Marion Pritchard, a retired teacher from New Richmond High School. Her commitment and dedication to the scholarship fund and the education of young Gaspesians is unparalleled. The Robertson Holmes Scholarship Committee regretfully accepted her resignation from the position of secretary treasurer in June 2011. Her contribution is humbly recognized with heartfelt gratitude.

As of June 2023 this fund has awarded over $238,000 in 468 scholarship awards to 184 different students.

Stephan Holmes and David Robertson canoeing.

Stephen Holmes and David Robertson canoeing.